How much is enough?


When it comes down to it, how much is each believer called to give? The common response is 10%. Some detractors say no, its 0% since the temple no longer exists as a separate path to God.

I think Jesus wants 100% of us. Period. In Mark 6:35-44, he asks his disciples how much food they have. In response they say 5 loaves of bread and 2 fish. Jesus takes far more than 0.5 loaves of bread and 0.2 fishes. He wants it all for the kingdom. In John 12:25 he calls us to give up our “empty life” here. He doesn’t want us to hold anything back. Ala, the Rich-Young-Ruler of Mark 10. The disciples gave their lives. The Acts 2 church? Everyone gave everything they had and no one was in need.

What does an Acts 2 church look like?

All I know is when I stumble across one, I’ll probably mess it up by bringing my 21st century church baggage with me…

2 Responses

  1. Wonderful words of wisdom!

    I have been financially strapped and I made a committment to tithe again. You know what, haven’t missed it and my heart and soul is fuller!!!

    Robyn

Leave a Reply

