New Web poll: "Does God approve of YOU?"


I opened my email this morning and was greeted with the following open web poll on a “good” Christian web site:

  • Do you believe that God approves of Homosexuality in the church? That its okay to be gay in His eyes? Read Romans 1:26-32

The surfer must choose one of the following:

  1. Yes, God approves of the Gay Lifestyle
  2. Yes, God approves. They were born that way
  3. No, Its an abomination in God’s eyes!
  4. I’m not sure!

Since I did not approve of the poll’s loaded question, choice of scripture, nor any of the compartmental choices, I did not partake. My curiosity was peaked though, so I clicked “Vote!” without actually voting. Sure enough, it’s unanimous, we loving Christian’s agree on choice #3: Its an abomination is God’s eyes! Complete with a bar chart for the visual.

While I’m not saying I disagree with all of my loving Christian brother’s and sister’s out there, I am saying that I am not saying! Which actually is not option #4 since I actually am sure, I simply choose to not partake. Now if the poll question was something more like:

  • Do you believe that God approves of YOU in the church? That its okay to be YOU in His eyes? Read Romans 3:23 also, Galatians 2:20

And we had choices like:

  1. Yes, God approves of all who follow Christ
  2. Yes, God approves of me. He made me for Christ’s sake! (Just as He’s made all that is.)
  3. No, I am an abomination in God’s eyes!
  4. I am not sure but I at least I’m not gay!

Then I might actually partake… but I suspect choice #3 may not be the unanimous winner any longer…

{soft, yet audible sigh…}

2 Responses

  1. Excellently said.

    Does God ‘approve’ of my lifestyle? Doubtful. Do I approve of my son’s lifestyle?(he’s not gay btw) Absolutely not. Do I love him anyway? Absolutely. Does he love me? I’m pretty sure he does. Would he love me if I found him to be an ‘abomination’? It sure wouldn’t be easy.

    Who uses words like ‘abomination’ anymore? Ugh.

  2. Thanks again. And apparently some translations of the Bible use the word abomination, which may have been fine for grandma and grandpa… but I even doubt that.

Leave a Reply

