I So Loved the Wolf is published


I So Loved the Wolf, a short four stanza poem that has kept me up many nights since I first shared it at writer’s group last October and youth group in January, is now published at Utmost Christian Writers.

This final version contains only 4 stanzas of four lines each. Each line contains only 5 one-syllable words. I was driving to create something powerful by using simple words you can find just lying around the house.

Thank you to all who reviewed a prior draft.

recovering wolf,
ric

==================
Added here:

I So Loved the Wolf

dead in the dark wood trapped in the long night
the wolf would eat wolf with rules to feed right.

the wolf knows not why, just this must be done.
I so loved the wolf, I came down as one.

dressed just as the wolf, plunged in the dark wood,
to die as the lamb, pure blood for a hood.

that the wolf might rise by blood of the lamb
and leave the dark wood dressed just as I am.

Leave a Reply

