Our Jungle


I am reading some of Ruth Bell Graham’s (better known as Mrs. Billy Graham) recorded quotes this morning. One that reminds me of my walk is this one:

“Having always longed to do pioneer missionary work, I must keep reminding myself as I look out over the New York skyline that this is our jungle.” –Ruth Bell Graham

My stories and poems can comfort the afflicted but more often they feel like they are afflicting the comfortable. Like the rich young ruler in Mark 10, it is all too easy for middle-class Americans to drift far away from God and actually believe we are in control of our lives and our surroundings.

God has given me a new heart. For me, there is something very heartbreaking about a self-assured, self-reliant, self-made man or woman.

I should know. Life was so simple before I died.

Leave a Reply

