the prettiest shackle


the prettiest shackle you ever won’t see
adorns our wrists along with the key
the jailer said, “with this you’ll be free!”
don’t hate him. he’s using. just like me
etched in gold, w.w.j.d?
the prettiest shackle you ever won’t see

we wear ’em on our shopping sprees
we wear ’em to click the shipping fee
we wear ’em to play on our new wiis
we wear ’em to pray on our knees
defend ’em with, “i gotta be me!”
the prettiest shackle you ever won’t see
etched in gold w.w.j.d?

the answer of course is, He would wear me
adorned with my shame hung on my tree
the prettiest shackle you ever won’t see

5 Responses

  1. I really like this poem. Great job!

  2. Thanks Sandy, I’m glad you like it.

  3. Love this love this love this too!!!

  4. Yeah, this one is more lyrical. You should set it (& tweak it as needed) to some music you songwriter you. You know, in all that spare time. 😉

  5. oh if only…..:) I write WORDS…haven’t a clue about music at all!!

Leave a Reply

