Forgiveness is the new F-word


Just over a year ago on October 2, 2006, a gunman entered West Nickel Mines School and shot 10 young Amish girls (ages 6-13), killing 5 and critically wounding 5 before committing suicide. The news reports that followed showed us a picture we cannot understand. No, I am not talking about the tragedy. Rather, I am referring to the scandalous acts that followed.

“We must not think evil of this man.” Grandfather of one of the murdered school girls on the day of the massacre.

…an Amish neighbor comforted the Roberts family hours after the shooting and extended forgiveness to them.

…the Amish have set up a charitable fund for the family of the shooter.

…The fathers of the Amish girls who had been shot went to the killer’s parents and asked what they could do to help them.

Today, October 18, 2007, more than 6 years since 9/11/2001, I received the following email joke from a friend:

SIGN IN A STORE WINDOW

“WE WOULD RATHER DO BUSINESS WITH 1000 AL QAEDA TERRORISTS THAN WITH ONE SINGLE AMERICAN”

This sign was prominently displayed in the window of a business in Philadelphia. You are probably outraged at the thought of such an inflammatory statement. However, we are a society which holds Freedom of Speech as perhaps our greatest liberty.

And after all, it is just a sign.

You may ask what kind of business would dare post such a sign.

Answer:

A Funeral Home
(Who said morticians had no sense of humor?)
You gotta love it!!!

God Bless America!

I wrote a poem last year and titled it, the f-word. I have held off sharing this particular poem due to its self-convicting and offensive nature. Its not very good from a literary sense but it is my heart.

the f-word

why do i hate the f word so much
i think those amish outta of touch
he killed your children! WTF?

demand justice for them. beg mercy for me.
i’m not the bride i’m pretending to be.
caged by fear, will i never live free?

i savor the news… I am dialed-in
i loathe the sinner… i love the sin
can i f the sinner and follow Him?

6 Responses

  1. […] ric booth – poet, writer, speaker wrote an interesting post today on Forgiveness is the new F-wordHere’s a quick excerpt Just over a year ago on October 2, 2006, a gunman entered West Nickel Mines School and shot 10 … WITH ONE SINGLE AMERICAN” This sign was prominently displayed in the window of a business in Philadelphia […]

  2. American Singles say I am interesting. That’s a lot of people. Is that like 37 million endorsements? I’m gonna have to update my portfolio.

    Hey but, what’s the deal with all you MARRIED people?

  3. Offensive? What’s not offensive about the flesh when faced with itself.

  4. Hmmm… this a riddle right? Ah, my biceps? No wait, my killer beard? No? How about my intellect? I know, my wedding picture? My humility? CRAP, even my humility is prideful?? Ok, ok, my toes. Yeah, my toes. What could possibly be offensive about my toes? BESIDES the odor!

  5. 😀 i havent read all yet coz i need to sleep first. but sure ill go back later!:-)
    i like ‘the f-word'(thats the only one i read though);-P, so sure i would like anything else written by you!

    -catea

  6. hey catea,

    Sleep. Rest is important. Thanks, I’m glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

