The Rich Young American


the rich young american
by ric booth

my cell is padded grey on grey
fluorescent shadows flood my days

i sit and type old words so tired
and plod enough to not get fired

i cut from here and paste to there
and meet to scrawl just like i care

and ponder words to rhyme with bored
the heart screams sail but I am moored.

i know there is a better way
still fear is king so here i stay

i earned all this. i worked real hard
to brick my cell, to debt, my bars.

poor envy me, this life i lead
buy all i want and do not need.

they watch me go through one-way glass
refuse to see, i walk on past

one thing i lack, i cannot feed
i crave a faith of mustard seed

Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” he said.
–Mark 10:21a (NIV)


Related post: the rich young american snags honorable mention

11 Responses

  1. Thank you for saying so well what I (an I image a lot of us) feel. Deep inside is a longing. a deep yearning for more. I’m getting there.

  2. “i earned all this. i worked real hard
    to brick my cell, to debt, my bars.”

    Excellent. Just excellent; I will pray for you.

  3. Rob: Thank you. I think C. S. Lewis put it best in Mere Christianity:

    If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.

    William: Thanks for the kind words and prayer. (I assume its past tense by now… right?)

    emailers: Thank you all for filling my inbox with your words of encouragement.

  4. Thanks Ric. I like it very much. If I had read this a few years ago I think I would have been driven to despair. Good stuff.

  5. Hey Ric, how did you know what my office looks like and what I do in meetings?

  6. Mike: Hey, if you’ve seen one maze you’ve seen ’em all.

  7. […] this first outing at bb bistro I read/recited the rich young american and Crashing Utopia in the first set and I So Loved the Wolf in the second set. Since the rich […]

  8. i crave a faith of mustard seed as well.

    you’re an excellent poet.

  9. Thank you.

  10. OH MY GOSH I LOVE THIS!!! Excellent imagery..and you’re speaking the truth brother ric! Amen!
    Anyone reminded of office space???
    LOVE THIS and the mustard seed….great ending!

  11. Thanks Kim. Somehow, I knew you would enjoy this one…

Leave a Reply

