Crashing Utopia


Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun. –Ecclesiastes 2:11

Crashing Utopia

How many paint brushes die in the attic?
How many writers just lay down their sword?
How many singers whisper in a closet?
How many preachers just echo the word?

How many teachers sit hushed in a cube?
How many lovers sleep together all alone?
How many fighters fall watching the tube?
How many dreamers are longing for home?

In sameness monotony we hide in suburbia,
Fashioning our regimen in regimented fashion.
Indifferent denial we declare it’s utopia.
Our impotent hearts devoid of love’s passion.

We repeat old patterns through time and space,
Waking each morning to a day older face.
We complain about rushing…about going too slow.
Completely surrounded and completely unknown.

We dream of a place we fear just might exist
While writing our grocery and to-do lists.
We retire each night taking stock of our lives,
Kicking ourselves for buying into the lies.

Yet in this functional madness you came,
For one painful moment to cry out your name.
So utopia, as we know it, can come crashing down,
In eerie slow motion like tears with no sound.

12 Responses

  1. Nice poem

  2. Thanks Leon. By ‘nice’ I’m guessing you mean ‘SSSWWWWEEEEEET!!” But then, that’s how I translate every comment.

  3. […] this first outing at bb bistro I read/recited the rich young american and Crashing Utopia in the first set and I So Loved the Wolf in the second set. Since the rich young american starts […]

  4. AAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!! I LOVE it!! I love your work!! I am a poet, artist, singer, writer, preacher who has been in hiding LOL! Just broke out…..this is awesome!!

  5. Hi Kelly! Welcome. Glad to hear you broke free of utopia 😉 I’m looking at your site now and found the poem Inadequacy. Will you be posting more of your work or are you compiling it for a publication/CD?

  6. Oh, I will put some on here and there. I do have a book being looked at by a publisher, which is why I love this poem so much…it is the same story as this poem of yours, but put into a poetic story for kids! (Think Dr. Seuss!) It’s called Little Bird, about a bird who falls from his nest, and his parents could care less, tell him he’ll be fine cause they fell when they were young also. Dad leaves, mom’s busy, he ends up running away and hanging out with a bunch of cats, but can’t see that they are cats….thinks he’s one of them after awhile. But then Majestic bird comes down to live on the ground with him too. and stays with him for a long time. Then one day He takes off…and Little Bird is so angry that He left, but Majestic Bird is teaching him to look up, to realize that he has wings to fly too….just before he notices all of the fangs and meows…and I’ll leave the ending for the bookstore shelves! LOL! it’s such a fun awesome story!

  7. “Little Bird” by Kelly. Cool. Keep me posted. Here is fine or a message on my contact page.

    I suppose I should do the work (yuck!) on putting together a book proposal sometime… So far, however, I am too impatient to wait for publishers – when I write something, I want to post it. NOW!

  8. How many paint brushes die in the attic?
    How many writers just lay down their sword?
    How many singers whisper in a closet?
    How many preachers just echo the word?…

    We dream of a place we fear just might exist
    While writing our grocery and to-do lists.
    We retire each night taking stock of our lives,
    Kicking ourselves for buying into the lies.

    We must come out of the closets and get off of the couches…

    Blogging has become my best means of speaking…I pray I don’t fall short.

    I wonder why I never read this one before? You always touch my heart, how is that possible? Great link to my post, Thanks!!

  9. “I pray I don’t fall short” — Rest assured Michelle, you are a bright light in blogosphere!

  10. “… So utopia, as we know it, can come crashing down,
    In eerie slow motion like tears with no sound.”
    Wow, your words take my breath away and there is a truth ringing in them that is astounding. I hope one day we can all see this monotony of indifference fall away. Thank you for allowing us to read these words.
    G

  11. Ric,
    Are you saying you already performed this at a slam! I hope I didn’t miss it.
    -Sam

  12. gothiquefae,
    Thanks for you kind and encouraging words.

    Sam,
    I go to many poetry open mics in DC and Annapolis. I’ll post my plans for May soon. I repeat stuff at different venues so you might catch it somewhere yet…

Leave a Reply

