The Lighthouse


Written in 2005 for my mother on Mother’s Day.

The Lighthouse
by ric booth

my life in review, some ups an’ some downs
so many tears, laughs, smiles, an’ some frowns
my very first swim, i screamed myself horse
’til you took my hand, now safe back on shore

pain paid a visit to us one cold night
you led us out and away from our plight
grandpa an’ grandma they drove us away
as everything’s changin’ by us you stay

strange town an’ strange school,
strange house an’ strange bed
i could not explain, so nothing was said
does nobody know? does any one care?
afraid, i look up and find you right there

storytown, my first rollercoaster ride
we screamed as we fell, i thought i would die
so frightened an’ scared, we whipped up an’ ’round
then i saw you watching up on firm ground

but grandpa died and my heart almost burst
when i saw father, my pain just got worse
an angry young man so mad and confused
you reached out to comfort, i just refused

at graduation they called out my name
my trophies were many, my pain still the same
all proud and conceited i stood for my bow
seeing your tears, i remember this now

when i lost first love, i wanted to quit
no one took notice of me in my pit
yet you saw right through, you knew right away
told me of a love i would find one day

some who i knew were doubting an’ upset
my haste they said i would live to regret
i had found my bride an’ while everyone’s mad
in you i found comfort, you even were glad

thought i had made it, claimed to have it all
family. career. ’round my heart a steel wall
then dad just died, he just wasted away.
i hated my god. still by me you stayed.

when my child’s life hung by a thin thread
many would judge me, you reached out instead
then i found the love you told me about
drowning in pain, He’s the only way out

sam’s graduation they called out her name
my trophies are trash, my life’s not the same
on my left was father smiling an proud
an’ you were there too, i know now just how

i saw a lighthouse here only last week
those pillars of light that all sailors seek
in the midst of their storms tossing around
they search for that light high up on firm ground

you are His lighthouse, so strong an’ so tall
life’s toughest storms you stood fast through ‘em all
when i saw the light shine out from your eyes
i did not know it was Jesus inside

those dark places He shines blotting out sin,
some things i have learned since letting Him in,
few know His gospel. few even find Him.
fewest of all, those daring to shine Him.

12 Responses

  1. wow.

    Ric, your way with words and creating visuals are amazing.

    beautiful!

  2. Love it – especially the last Paragraph ( actually the rest was boring me 😉 ) So I Tagged you! ( over on my weblog)

    <B

  3. Thanks Tam.

    love loves the last paragraph…hmmm what’s a tag? Thanks love!

  4. What a blessing to have a mother who continued to shine the light.

    Going through the turbulent years with three teenagers at once, I’m trying to keep my sanity by knowing someday they’ll realize the purpose of mom in their lives.

    Is your mom still alive? I bet this blessed her socks off!!!!! 😀

  5. Thanks again for your inspiring words. I think part of ‘growing up’ is coming to understand that the good we see in the people we admire is really Jesus shining through. Like you said here:

    you are His lighthouse, so strong an’ so tall
    life’s toughest storms you stood fast through ‘em all
    when i saw the light shine out from your eyes
    i did not know it was Jesus inside

    I think that understanding helps when we come to a place (inevitably, we will) of being disappointed in our ‘role models’. Maybe it would be better to think it was just a ‘cloudy’ day for them when His light was a little ‘obscured’?

    I guess I just have too many songs is my head, since it reminds me of this excerpt from one by Twila Paris:

    I am meant to be a pure reflection of the truth
    So above it all I pray that I will not obscure the view

    Could you believe if I stood here transparent
    And through me you could see his eyes
    Could you believe if you saw right inside me
    and there was no disguise
    Could you believe if I was really like him
    If I lived all the words that I said
    If it was clear that I held in my heart
    What I know in my head
    Could you believe, could you believe
    Looking at me, could you believe
    Could you believe?

    (“Could You Believe?” from Twila Paris’ “True North” CD)

    Desiring that too,
    D-

  6. Michelle, Hang in there mom. Someday your children will know! And yes, mom did cry with this card.

    D, Thanks for sharing where this poem took you. That Twila Paris song is filled with truth.

  7. Ric … its incredible!

    Terri

  8. Terri, Thank you.

  9. Ric, thank you for sharing you. Michelle and I have been talking alot about how God has brought us through to testify to His greatness. I’m thankful that He reached and pulled you out of the muck, selfishly so that things like this can now be written. I can hear your heart…it’s wonderful. THank you.

  10. Thanks Deb. He has invited me into His story and although I tend to drag my feet a lot He continues to encourage me.

  11. Favorite parts:

    at graduation they called out my name
    my trophies were many, my pain still the same
    all proud and conceited i stood for my bow
    seeing your tears, i remember this now

    when my child’s life hung by a thin thread
    many would judge me, you reached out instead
    then i found the love you told me about
    drowning in pain, He’s the only way out

Leave a Reply

