Out with the Old, In with the New


Bathroom Gutted

Bathroom Gutted

For the months of June and July we remodeled my daughter’s and son-in-law’s townhouse. They acquired it as a foreclosure deal and as such it needed significant work. They are just starting out and this is their first home so they could not get into any of the new home$.

Bathroom with new walls, tub, and tile floor

Bathroom with new walls, tub, and tile floor

So Sam, John, Patti, Eric, and I remodeled, painted, cleaned, ripped out, hauled away, and sweated for two months of evenings and weekends. Along with some help from friends like, Amy, Ty, Andre, Badguy, Mary, and Shelane.

Many thanks to everyone who helped!

The bathroom proved to be the biggest job. We had to gut it to the studs and start from scratch.

After many weekends and evenings it started to look like a bathroom again.

New, prefinished, hardwood floor

New, prefinished, hardwood floor

Then came the hardwood floors.

This is where we learn WHY they call them HARDwood floors rather than simply wood floors. I think they are sincerely trying to warn us. Given our recent experience, I strongly recommend a more descriptive name like: DoubleBlackDiamondWood floors.

Our Helper

Our Helper

Also, one never realizes just how low the floor actually IS until crawling on ones hands an knees for a gazillion hours or two. Laying new hardwood floors would be so much easier if only the floor were a bit higher.

I now sport knee calluses, which I think, will come in pretty handy if I find I need to crawl over a hot bed of coals or pray on gravel.

At least with the floors we had help from a professional crawler.

47 Responses

  1. This makes for wonderful memories. You and Patti are wonderful parents to give like this. Isn’t it great to see a house take shape into a home?

    Tell the new homeowners, Congrats!

  2. Yes it is a great feeling of accomplishment. I was tired (exhausted!!) at times but I do like working with my hands and seeing things come together.

  3. Ric,
    Cool, now I can sign you up for Habitat for Humanity. How often can you do this?
    -Sam

  4. Haha! Well Sam, I should be ready again in about a decade or two…but you never know.

  5. you and patti are fabulous parents! and all the helpers….wow. even Bad??? πŸ˜‰ priceless!

    you are a good man!

    love you!

  6. yeah, even Bad!? Turns out he can paint. Thanks Tam.

  7. Yeah….. Well bro this is how I have made my living up to now. That very kind of work is everything but enjoying until you get to the end. It is the end results that count up to make all of what everyone went through worth it. As for hardwood floors well…… I certainly understand what it is you are saying. The crawling around on ones hands and knees at our age…….yeah…… that is why I don’t do very many of them these days. All and all it looks like it was a great project and a whole lot of sharing that will build some lasting memories. Great job everyone! love ya bro

  8. I remember you talking about all that you had going on there..wow the before and after pics really tell a bigger story.. good job!

  9. Dave, Thanks. I’m so glad we finished!

    Darla, yeah, I’ve been talking about this for a couple of months now! Lots of work! Thanks.

  10. You realize that if the blogging community lived closer we all would have invaded and got things done for ya~ πŸ™‚ You and Patti are wonderful…Bad ***gulp*** painted???? Wow, did he go sideways too or just up and down? πŸ˜†

    Last picture is priceless…looks like you guys did a great job!

  11. Ric,
    Yeah, what 1godsgal said.
    I could have driven the 56 miles to your church by now, too, but keep getting detoured by people at mine.
    Week after next I’ll try to make it over to MACC.
    -Sam

  12. Deb: Ok now, that’s what I’m talkin about! The more the merrier! And yes, Bad paints, who knew? He also brought along some refreshment πŸ˜‰

    Sam, that would be so cool! The week after next is the 24th right? We worship with the 11 o’clock crowd πŸ™‚

  13. It looks great! I wish I could have helped out more. My next life I want to be a general contractor methinks…

    Did you ever ask the kids if they wanted the curtains for the back slider? (I actually found them the other day – and I think Leah would be willing to part with or loan them…)

    Deb, what makes you think I couldn’t paint?

  14. For pete sakes Bad…it was a way to pick on you, how could I resist????

    I have a feeling you have alot of life experience that is very beneficial to many people…. πŸ˜‰

  15. That sounds like a lot of fun; I am so not home-repair-savvy so I admire all the work that people put in houses without hiring someone. I hope all is well with you. Your grandson is adorable, praise God! Love and blessings.

  16. Deb: Just so’s you know, that would be Bad’s way of picking on you. And yes many of his life experiences have been helpful. In fact some people’s lives have benefited and they don’t even know Bad.

    Hey Braveone: Well is was fun. And tiring. And rewarding. And frustrating. and well… a lot of rollercoaster feelings. But in the end it definitely does feel good.

  17. Thanks Ric, I thought i offended him… It’s hard to read in blogland at times….

    “In fact some people’s lives have benefited and they don’t even know Bad.”

    I’m raising my hand…. πŸ™‚

  18. nice work Ric – what memories this makes. I use a lot of Ben Gay now days when I try to tackle the projects anymore! lol

  19. ric – stop telling my secrets!

    deb- we’re going to work on having a thicker skin (and not just the part you use to sit on a horse!)

    ric – the bathroom did get a sink and toilet, right?

    deb – and I’ve benefited from knowing you!

  20. Deb: Its kinda hard to offend Bad… Maybe if you trash the redskins or the blues brothers but other than that.

    Papa: I hear you on the ben gay!

    Bad: You should know if I know about it, it is no longer YOUR secret.
    Just sayin’… And yes toilet and sink have made it into the new bathroom… I’ll have to get some “finished” shots.

  21. redskins suck

  22. cowboys rule.

    nuf said.

  23. tam/ric – I know where you live. ric – I’m within driving distance (well, on weekends anyway).

    where’s God when you need someone smitten…

  24. Blues Brothers suck too, but of course I would never let him know I felt that way….

  25. hehe – good one deb. and i agree.

    bad – if thats what it takes to get you to come out to oregon…then the redskins REALLY, REALLY, REALLY suck!

  26. Man, I feel really bad. Its as though I unintentionally instigated all of this. Nothing could be further from the truth. I always try to be intentional.

  27. ric – watch your back!

    tam/deb – I’m torqued. Now I have to figure out how to get to Oregon. I will make you watch replays of Super Bowls XVII, XXII, and XXV. Plus a few choice highlight reels of the times the Redskins have humiliated the Dallas Cowboys (which is all that really matters).

    In addition you will have to watch an extended version, director’s cut of the Blues Brothers (that runs over 2 and half hours!!!!) The extra 30 or so minutes of footage really fill in the gaps in the storyline, and provide full versions of all the musical numbers.

    Hah!

  28. (make that Super Bowl XXVI !!!)

  29. “Now I have to figure out how to get to Oregon.” Airplane? πŸ˜† Glad it’s working… πŸ˜‰

  30. bad – no rpob. i LOVE football. i just dont like the redskins. so…bring it!

    and yes, take debs wisdom…an airplane. they work wonders πŸ˜‰

  31. Should I be planning to fly into Portland?

  32. Bad: “Plus a few choice highlight reels…” I’m glad you said “few”

    And actually, you should be “planning” on buying me a ticket. or two.

  33. ric – I have a very long memory for skins v. cowboys highlights. True the Cowboys have won more games overall in the head to head competition, but I believe the Skins are 2-0 in NFC Championship games played against the Cowboys. That is, when it’s really mattered – Skins WIN!!!

    You might mention Clint Longeley; to which I would mention Ken Houston.
    You’d say Tony Dorsett; I’d say Darrell Green.
    Landry? Gibbs.

    Oh, then there was the time that an entire team of scabs (replacements) beat the ‘real’ Cowboys. Ouch.

    Sept. 28th and/or Nov. 16th. We must get together…

  34. you should fly into Medford. yes you should!

  35. Fly to Medford Bad, ASAP…..LOL

    We’ll be there for ya! Would you like me to make reservations???? πŸ˜€

  36. Uh, yes, and Ric and wifey need tickets as well….. πŸ˜‰

  37. And there be the “few”. Ok, we’ll have to meet on the games days but be warned: I don’t wanna be handing you tissues.

  38. I think that’s ric and wifeyS need tickets…

    Where the heck is Medford???

  39. LOL Medford is about 6 hours south of Portland where we actually live….It would be easier to just fly in there…we’ll come to Portland to though…either way. πŸ™‚

  40. wifeyS? :confused:

  41. debs – 6 hours? you drive slow girl! next time you go to portland, let me drive (and that would be the jeep πŸ˜‰ ) its only about 4 1/2 hours. i think it cost the same to fly into medford these days too!

  42. Ric: Uh, I was gonna let that slide but I have to say my curiosity is a bit peaked…LOL πŸ˜‰

  43. *******YAWN****** ****CRICKETS CHIRPING****

    *****SCRATCH, SCRATCH****** *****SNIFF*****

  44. I like you hints.

  45. ric – “you should be β€œplanning” on buying me a ticket. or two” what did you mean by two tickets? I thought you meant your wife and you. and if the three of us are going, methinks my wife would want to go too.
    your wife + my wife = wifeyS

  46. When ya’ll get done bickerin’ load yer butts on a plane and fly West young men…. πŸ™‚

  47. ahhh… I should have been able to figure that out on my own huh?

    (my antihistamine has kicked in and I am quite awake.)

Leave a Reply

