The Fall


Fall Tree on the Skyline Drive

Fall Tree on the Skyline Drive

Two years ago in October 2006, Patti and I went to the Skyline Drive to see the fall foliage. The trees had not yet peaked so the hills were still pretty green but some of the stunning changes were begining. This tree in particular caught my eye. The leaves closest to the sun were a redish-orange. Then less progressed leaves were bright yellow. Followed by the green leaves on the north side of the tree.

Fall Trail

Fall Trail

We parked the car at a trail head and walked down to some waterfalls. I love paths through the woods. And, of course, paths make a cool header image for my blog.

I don’t think we will get back up there this October but maybe next year. The colors are stuning. Plus we HAVE to drive through Virginia wine country to get there, which is really what this post is all about.

16 Responses

  1. WOW.

    It was worth the wait! Look at that tree…I have to draw it!

    Fall has barely arrived in Texas.
    I dream of a trip to the Northeast to see this up close and personal, take my watercolors along and see what can be created…wow.

    Thanks for the pic, Ric. πŸ˜†

    Stunning.

  2. Glad you like it Michelle. If you do draw it, I would like to see a scan/picture of that drawing or watercolor or whatever…

  3. I love that tree! I want one!!

  4. What a beautiful picture. I need to be walking or riding my bike down those paths right now. You just don’t get scenery like that in central Florida.

    Those pictures would make great desktop backgrounds, don’t you think?

  5. Selena, next time I go to this National Park I will tell the park ranger that you want this particular tree. I’ll pass along your blog address. πŸ˜‰

    Hi Ron. Yes, these would make great desktop backgrounds. I think I will set my work computer to the path through the woods.

  6. Oh, I see how it is. πŸ™‚ Do you have them with higher resolutions, like 1152X864 perhaps? I must get a camera.

  7. I’m a little slow… haha. Check your email my friend.

  8. Done, and done. My desktop changes all the time, and now will include two more. I have a slide show feature that changes the background at chosen intervals. KDE is so cool.

  9. I’m flying to Albany on Monday, and driving to Potsdam – right through the heart of the Adirondacks.

    I’m hoping that the leaves are just about peak – I need to pry the camera out of my wife’s hands. We’ve already got about 500 pics of Hannah…

  10. Thanks, Ric. I’ll send a scanned picture if I ever get one done. They’re beautiful. πŸ˜‰

  11. Potsdam eh? I went to Clarkson for 3 semesters back in the day… The Adirondacks should be at peak. That will be a great drive (weather cooperating).

    You’re welcome Michelle. Enjoy.

  12. Love Love Love skyline drive! beautiful in all seasons! This is my honeymoon place..me and the Hubs for a week camping through the mountains…just incredible…the deer are alittle curious and close for me..LOL yes I was scared of the deer and how they thought they should look over my shoulder in the campsite…tooo funny now when I think about it…tough city girl, running from deer 😳

  13. Haha… the semi-domesticated deer are a little freaky to say the least. I know a few hunters that would like to “cure” the deer population there.

  14. ooooooooo ahhhhhhh….NICE! I need to get some Oregon pics up….this is just beautiful! Thanks Ric πŸ™‚

  15. Hey Deb, I’d love to see some of Oregon.

  16. mmmmmmm deer bologna…deer burger…deer stew…I would donate some amno..

Leave a Reply

