Sit awhile with me


This year I started practicing the song, You Raise Me Up with my voice coach. I fell in love with the song a few years ago when I heard the cover by Selah. I have improved to the point where I can sing this song in my sleep. After this week, I now know why I choose this song many months ago.

You Raise Me Up

Music by Rolf Løvland
Lyrics by Brendan Graham

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up to more than I can be.

There is no life – no life without this hunger;
Each restless heart beats so imperfectly;
But when you come and I am filled with wonder,
Sometimes, I think I glimpse eternity.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up to more than I can be.

« »

9 Responses

  1. This song was performed in our wedding as my mother was being seated. Holds a special place with me too.

  2. This is an awesome song!!!has often pointed me in the right direction…happy friday!!!

  3. Oh how I LOVE this song! We need to hear you singing it! 😀

  4. I can only echo what others here have said. What a powerful song about what an amazing God does for us.

  5. Ric,
    Thanks for the reminder of this song. So much discouraging news today on email and blogs, it was needed for me at least.
    You probably have already seen this, but here’s the youtube link for the Selah version:

    For those who may not know, Todd and Nicole (the vocalists standing) are brother and sister who were raised on the mission field in Africa. They live in the States now, but both lost infant children within the past 6 months. Just reading Nicole’s husband’s blog earlier reminded me of their need to be ‘raised up’ as well:
    http://www.thelukesponbergfoundation.blogspot.com
    for any interested.

    That’s one of just a few songs I have on my cell phone to hear as needed, as it was today =}.

    D-

  6. Ric, I guess great minds think alike. I posted the Celtic Women’s version of the song in my blog today.

    It is one of those songs where there are no bad versions. Anyone could sing it and it would be beautiful.

  7. Thanks D, I added the youtube link to the post.

  8. I love this version. Thank you Brotha Ric. Needed to hear this today. Love you.

  9. This is a great song. Love it.

Leave a Reply

