Its hard to give. Its hard to get.


This is one of my favorite songs (for several years now).

Forgiveness
by Patty Griffin

We are swimming with the snakes
At the bottom of the well
So silent and peaceful in the darkness where we fell
But we are not snakes and whats more
We never will be
And if we stay swimming here forever we will
Never be free

I heard them ringing the bells
In heaven and hell
They got a secret
Theyre getting ready to tell
Its falling from the sky
Calling from the graves
Open your eyes, boy, I think we are saved
Open your eyes, boy, I think we are saved
Lets take a walk on the bridge
Right over this mess
Dont need to tell me a thing, baby
We’re already confessed
And I raised my voice to the air
And we were blessed
Its hard to give. Its hard to get.
but everybody needs a little forgiveness

We are calling for him tonight on this
Thin phone line
As usual were having ourselves one
Hell of a time
And the planes keep flying right over our heads
No matter how lond we shout
Hey, hey, hey !
And we keep waving and waving
Our arms in the air
But were all tired out

I heard somebody say
Todays the day
A big old hurricaine
Is blowing our way
Knocking over the buildings
Killing all the light
Open your eyes, boy, we made it through the night
Open your eyes, boy, we made it through the night
Lets take a walk on the bridge
Right over this mess
Dont need to tell me a thing, baby
We’re already confessed
And I raised my voice to the air
And we were blessed
Its hard to give. Its hard to get.
Its hard to give.
But still I think its the best bet
Hard to give
Never gonna forget
But everybody needs a little forgiveness
Everybody needs a little forgiveness

Here’s the song set to House (TV show). This is not meant to be an endorsement of House. I just could not find Patty Griffin singing it in a video on youtube.

6 Responses

  1. dang, you are in a funk. I’ll be home Thursday…

    thank to you, I too love this song. In fact, the whole album is amazing. My kid’s favorite song is “Moses.”

  2. The album is “Living with Ghosts” and is available at Amazon. Funk sounds, well, way too upbeat. I am pretty sure I’ll be here (in a funk?) for several weeks, so there’s no rush.

  3. Great song Ric. I was just listening to some of her music and liked “Heavenly Day” and “Up To The Mountain”.

    The ability to forgive is something I have always had a struggle with. Way too much pride, way too much.

  4. Glad you like it Ed. She’s pretty cool. Just a guitar and her voice. And she composes it all too. And she’s a poet.

    Forgiveness is hard for everyone Ed but, as I’ve learned, it is the only way out.

  5. First time poster here and I just want to say that those lyrics really hit hard. Thanks for sharing that.

  6. Welcome Bunk! Thanks for stopping by. Patty Griffin is quite the lyricist to say the least. I check out Fire.Spirit.Life and found your blurb under contributors. Pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

