A Silent Rock


My love for the music [poetry] of Simon & Garfunkel began with their album The Sounds of Silence. Back in the 60s and 70s, we had 45s and record players. I could stack up to about 10 45s on the player and it would automatically play each one from bottom to top… my mechanical playlist. To put a song on repeat, I would prop the arm up, tricking the record player into thinking many 45s were there to drop. I had these particular songs on repeat while [hiding] in my room. I am only now beginning to appreciate why as I break the silence and disturb the slumber of feelings that had died. Of course, grown-ups know feelings don’t die, we just bury them for a while.

I am a Rock

A winters day
in a deep and dark December;
I am alone,
gazing from my window to the streets below
on a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.
I am a rock, I am an island.

I’ve built walls,
a fortress steep and mighty,
that none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain.
Its laughter and its loving I disdain.
I am a rock, I am an island.

Don’t talk of love,
well I’ve heard the words before…
its sleeping in my memory.
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died.
If I never loved I never would have cried.
I am a rock, I am an island.

I have my books
and my poetry to protect me.
I am shielded in my armor,
hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock, I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain;
And an island never cries.

The Sound of Silence

Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
because a vision softly creeping
left its seeds while I was sleeping
and the vision that was planted in my brain
still remains
within the sound of silence…

14 Responses

  1. My Mother in law was a big S&G chic back in the day! I still like PS’s You Can Call Me Al from the 80’s.

  2. PS has influenced my writing more than I know.

  3. I learned how to play the Sounds of Silence in 7th grade in guitar class. That was the closest to cool I ever achieved. Thanks for the walk down Memory Lane.

    Once the dam breaks the flood can come violently, but eventually it dissipates to a nice even flow. It’s good to break the dam.

  4. Flood is apropos. I’ve been listening to that song too. Flood by Jars of Clay. You play the guitar. Very cool.

  5. I was always fond of “Late in the Evening” and “America”.

    Flood is an awesome song…

  6. Sometimes for me, Flood hits the nail on its head. Thanks Scott, good to meet a fellow S&G listener.

  7. Only those of us who have traveled these paths that S&G sing about truly understand what is in the words. I know all too well what the Sound of Silence feels like as well as the words in I am a Rock. Isn’t it just amazing how the words of these songs still hit all of us today……we have a huge God! I am so grateful to know him the way I do today. thanks Ric.

  8. I went to listen to Flood by Jars of Clay. I KNOW that song? Phat used to play it all. the. time.

    I don’t really play guitar anymore, Ric. I wasn’t very good at practicing. I can only remember about four chords. Never leaned a pic pattern…sure wish I could though. Ah well…

    …maybe heaven! 😉

  9. @Michele – George Thorogood made a career out of it and he’s known as 3 chord George. The most important notes are the ones you don’t play 😆

  10. You’re welcome Dave.

    Michelle, glad I mentioned Flood!

  11. I loved these guys, and these songs were some of my favorites.

    But just as I was reading through the lyrics, I saw something that I never applied with them before..my earlier state of mind…and how sad I was then even though I danced around to these.

    Sometimes I am just surprised at how much healing I have really had, even when I am so oblivious to it! 😯

  12. When we see Him in heaven, I think we’ll all be shocked by the way He has used everything in our lives to His glory.

  13. thanks so much for putting these up here, ric.

  14. Happy to oblige, John.

Leave a Reply

