In a Forest, No one Walks Alone


alone with himin a forest, no one walks alone
in a flood, no one is dying of thirst
in a church, no one wonders why
in a family, no one opens the closet
in a mirror, no one sees himself
in a dungeon, no one longs for punishment
in a forest, no one walks alone

in a crowd, no one knows his name
in a sitcom, no one finds distraction
in a tragedy, no one joins the laugh track
in a bedroom, no one sees and hears
in a child, no one hides himself
in a coma, no one is quite comfortable
in a forest, no one walks alone

in a crash, no one survives the impact
in a family, no one opens the closet
in a mirror, no one sees … the child
in a dungeon, no one longs for rescue
in an instant, no one remembers
. . . everything

in a forest, no one walks alone

6 Responses

  1. I appreciate the catharsis.

    to my mind though i read here pretty much ‘all or nothing’.

    i see the last line as one of Hope… we are not alone – even when we are ‘alone’ – or feel alone in a crowd of friends.

    i think the solutions lie in being able to change our focus – seeing the forest and not just the trees, or knowing that each tree is different that makes up the one forest.

    So – how you dooin’ today? 🙂

    <B

  2. Heavy heart yesterday and today. Some things just take me back to times and places I had become successful at avoiding. But now I’m exploring those places, with Him of course. I seem to have two speeds, numb and intense, overwhelming despair. I am seeking healthy responses.

    Thank you for asking Love. And thanks for reading my ramblings.

  3. You are very welcome.

    It is impossible for one human to fully appreciate what another has to endure… so i won’t pretend i do – what i do know though is we all can understand pain and anything we can do to help another overcome it in them is the least we might offer.

    Having someone try to understand though can be the greatest ‘help’ of all i felt.

    it’s good there are those around us who will take the time to listen while we go through the ups and downs 🙂

    I believe you are doing the right thing here Ric.

    and i’m not just saying that as your VMom! 😉

    <B

  4. It’s good to hear both the honesty (Ric) and the compassion (Love) expressed brother to brother — a sorely needed reality in both the ‘real’ and ‘virtual’ worlds these days, I believe.

    I share the concern and will be praying for you.

    “In a family, no one opens the closet.” ?
    I guess it’s true that if it’s locked from the inside, there’s only One that can open the door anyway. Yet, even He always asks permission first (Rev. 3:20).

    D-

  5. Great poem Ric. I really like the last verse

    “in a mirror, no one sees … the child
    in a dungeon, no one longs for rescue
    in an instant, no one remembers
    . . . everything”

    As long as I can see the beauty in all of life, wonder at how it adopts to any condition, I know will never be alone.

    As long as I can make a friend by smiling, or putting out a helping hand, I will never be alone.

    I have had days were I could not see that beauty, or lacked the will or energy to put out that hand, but fortunately they don’t come around much anymore.

  6. Thanks D, and I think you’re right about that lock.

    Hey Ed, I’m glad to hear lonely days are rare for you. Keep looking for that beauty.

Leave a Reply

