you were so brave


a child dies … a fearful time.
some days neglect … some days a crime.

detached, i watch … life slip away.
i cannot reach … me from today.

i turn my back … refuse to cry.
forget the past … just let it die.

i suck it up … i forge ahead.
deny the pain … pretend instead.

he chased me down … to find me here
an’ make me face … forgotten years.

i scream, “there’s nothing … there to see!”
yet he persists … this ghost in me.

no one can see … no one quite knows
that grievous death … pervades my soul

i kneel today … down by my grave
to offer tears … you were so brave.
to offer tears … you were so brave.

18 Responses

  1. i sure hope you are gathering all this good work for an anthology to be printed?

    i know it’s being done more for your own benefit but i feel it will help millions just like you Bro.

    Have you kept hat much bravery within you today to be so exposed?

    maybe later?

    Continue seeking to Hold Fast to the Truth and cast off the lies, Ric. 🙂

    <B

  2. WOW. wow wow wow wow.

    This is awesome. Chills all the way down man.

    YOu got a new reader today sir. God bless.

  3. Ah… man.. I love poetry. I don’t post much of my own stuff because I just think people are interested in reading it (my stuff)

    Your piece is was fantastic. It reminded me of the bit from the movie about that young African-American man who does the “the boy who inside of me” .. I don’t know if I got that right and I can’t remember the title of the movie.

    Great post!

  4. Hadn’t read this yet Ric….wonderful! There is so much good coming out of so much pain, I pray the Lord will be as merciful through the next little while as well. Thank you, again, for sharing and being so transparent!

    Debs

  5. Hi Andy, Thanks for your kind words.

    Tony, I don’t know the movie your speaking of… maybe someone will enlighten us…? Thanks for coming by and listening to a poet.

    Debs, thanks for being here, especially now.

  6. Ric, that was amazing. That’s some of the most inspired writing I’ve read from you in a while. It’s beautiful.

  7. You’ve touched my heart with your website.
    With tears in my eyes – thank you.
    God bless you,
    Jonie

    • You could not have come by and commented at a better time Jonie. (I just love it when God does things like this.)

      I love the art on your blog!
      Thank you for coming by. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  8. God led me to Robert’s blog, from there to Annie’s blog and you had left a link there…and Annie thanked you for the poem and I was curious… I love poetry! And so here I am!
    Thank you for commenting on my website – I hope you found the other ones as well, they are all different and I love them! 🙂
    I don’t know what you’re going through, just never forget that in “Christ alone our hope is found” and “here in the love of Christ we stand” .
    God bless you, Jonie

  9. Oh, sorry Ric – just wanted to insert the link to youtube and I find I’ve inserted the video! Please remove it if you like, I won’t be offended!!

  10. this one stopped my heart. completely took my breath,

    ric…this is one of the most powerful poems i have read in a very long time.

    just…wow.

  11. Very anguished words Ric. I hope the process of re-creating your past in words will free you from it.

  12. tears, Ric. As always. Tears. Powerful, my brother.

Leave a Reply

