Harriet R. Law, In Loving Memory


This is where I found myself and my bride sitting last Saturday. My Great-Aunt Harriet left this world at the ripe old age of 92. (well, 91.9 would be more accurate).

Aunt Harriet's Memorial Service

Aunt Harriet's Memorial Service

When I think of Aunt Harriet (& Uncle Walter who died in ’94) I think of dope, cows, snowmobiles, hay forts, ponds, kittens, maple syrup, silage, barn clothes, ice cream, tractors, Sunday worship, and manure spreaders.

These are a few of my memories with my Aunt Harriet and Uncle Walter. I would visit during summer and winter breaks from school. In the summertime, we would be involved with haying-it or picking-stone. In the winter, I would help gather sap and go to the sap house with either my uncle or aunt.

I will write more about these amazing people in the coming weeks.

BTW, dope is what Aunt Harriet called her pancake topping of fresh-real-homemade whipped cream with brown sugar gently folded in. In the 60s, the American culture changed the meaning of the word dope. Aunt Harriet never changed from the 30’s forward.

BTW, part 2: The 4 empty rows in front of us were reserved for her immediate family of 6 married children, (22 mostly married)  grandchildren, 44 great-grandchildren, and 4 great-great grandchildren! About 100 fold…

Aunt Harriet’s obituary:
http://www.bennettfh.com/sitemaker/sites/Bennet1/obit.cgi?user=116537Law

4 Responses

  1. I’m one of Harriet’s daughters-in-law. Thanks for your memories and tribute to her. She was remarkable in many ways and certainly left a family legacy behind!

  2. I very much enjoyed hearing Fran’s testimony at the memorial service. I too was 39…and although I don’t think Aunt Harriet was involved, I would not be the least bit surprised to discover otherwise when I meet her next. God bless Darlene.

  3. Like those rooms where leaders gather, this room will be a forum in which all countries, large and small, developed and developing, can air their grievances, highlight their aspirations, and hopefully, in the end, find consensus. ,

  4. R-rrrriiiight.

Leave a Reply

