What if this it?


A well-meaning friend who is walking stumbling through my current storm with me said to me, “I can’t wait to hear the victory part of your story.”

I desire victory too… but what is victory?

What if all the broken relationships I now suffer enjoy, remain broken for the remainder of my time in this world?

What if the only broken relationship restored in this world is my relationship with God through Christ?

Would that be enough? I have given IT to God but He, for His own reasons, is not accepting. Not now. So my thorn remains.

Some implore me to focus not on the past but on the future. I find this focus-shift does not work well at all. At least, not for me. My future is either a fantasy I will never see in this world or a continuance of broken relationships. The former is denial. The later is a mirror. Neither is joy.

What if where I am right now, present time, in this pit, covered with this world’s mud and another world’s love…

What if this is it?

19 Responses

  1. “What if the only broken relationship restored in this world is my relationship with God through Christ?
    Would that be enough?”

    It has to be. If He is not our everything, He will bring us to a point where He is. If we are not first seeking first His righteousness, “all these things” can not then be added.

    • Yes Debs… so why is there this expectation for more? Next steps? etc…

      • Usually when there is an expectation for more it’s because I have not learned to be content with what I have, where He has me…..I feel so doom and gloom today, don’t mean to be, just know what you’re feeling here, and for me, when I feel this way, is all about my not learning to be content in every situation.

        Like Paul said ““I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” Phil.4:11-13

        This is God’s process and He above all knows the pace that is best for you, and that will bring the most Glory to Him. My prayer for you is to feel anxious for nothing, and to recognize when He says “take a step” or “just rest”….when you find your happiness and His joy that is your strength in the very moment He has you in regardless of what is going on, it is then that you will find your true peace. Will it get better? Don’t know, but each day we have should be the best, He made it just for you, be glad and rejoice in it. =)

  2. What if this is it? Then we endure “it”, persevere in the hope that it could get better. Each hour, day, we survive is a victory.

    Faith is what gives us hope. The faith of a Christ Follower is that even if it never gets better in the world we live in, it will be better in the next.

  3. Amen, Ed!

    Ric, I’ll let you in on my ‘news’ (that only LWBUT knows so far) since your post here so melds with this other one.

    I know it’s long, but there’s a lot of scripture written out, and I think we ALL need to hear those words more than our own!

    So, let me know if it helps you as much as it did me to write it (yeah, I finally did it, but I don’t think my comment name links to it yet – still working on that =)!

    http://lazrus2.wordpress.com/

    D-

  4. Hey, whaddaya know, it did link, and I don’t even know how that happened !!

    D-

  5. Thanks Deb… I feel compelled to write more… why is that?

    And why can I not reply to your reply to my reply?

    I will write more on this. Hopefully, more clearly next time.

  6. It’s a one-day-at-a-time-struggle and sometimes one moment at a time. I think that’s the answer to the immense pain of life. Jesus told us to not worry about tomorrow. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

    We sin. Others sin. The world is filled with sin. It will be painful until the problem with sin is finally done.

    Until then, we persevere knowing He loves us and desires us to press on in Him. It will be perfect some day…

    Live in the moment with His grace, Ric. The moment is all you have. And if you make it through this one, then one more, then again…until the day is done…then…come morning…His mercies will be new…to make it through another day…again.

    Yesterday is gone.
    Tomorrow isn’t here yet.
    Today is all we have.

    I’m praying for you…

  7. Lots of good stuff written above.

    Here’s my $0.02…

    But first a quick re-affirmation of what Sis mentioned: His Mercies ARE New each morning.

    you asked a q.

    So when this corruptible shall have put on incorruption, and this mortal shall have put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written, Death is swallowed up in VICTORY.(1 Cor 15:54)

    For whatsoever is born of God overcometh the world: and this is the VICTORY that overcometh the world, even our faith (1 John 5:4)

    It seems to be saying (The NT) that Victory comes when we have ‘put on’ the incorruptible Spirit over the corrunption that we see in this world.

    Thinking we have but not seeing the Victory that He has given us suggests ( to me) that we may not have yet achieved what we think we might, or what He has chosen for us.

    I’d far sooner believe we have ‘got it wrong’ than believe He has not kept His Word.

    There may be a small possibility you still have something important to learn/do down here Brother?

    Considering my own life ( since i know it better than i do yours) how do you feel you are going concerning forgiveness? Long-suffering ? Thankfulness and gratitude? Self-justification? Praise and Worship? Sacrifices?

    Just some of the areas i know i have work to do on – as some have helped me see lately! 😉

    When we have achieved Victory we will know it and be able to declare it to all.

    And as for being in the pit covered with the World’s mud and slime…

    maybe i’m not seeing things through your eyes… but of what you have been gracious enough to show me of your life in recent weeks i know of several BILLION people who would swap their lives for yours in a heartbeat?

    I’m not saying it is ALL wine and roses and yachts and holidays with a loving family of course, but geez….How much are you hoping to receive from Him exactly?

    What is the prime underlying factor of your feelings right this very second? Right NOW?

    how well do you feel you are able to ‘balance’ things out – good to bad? Does one predominate? and why do you think that is or should be?

    More questions than answers i know – but i can’t give you your answers – only you and He can.

    If you don’t like the ones He seems to be giving you NOW i might just be able to offer you a way of seeing them from another perspective you could learn to gain a victory of sorts from?

    with love Bro.

    <B

  8. While I agree that our relationship with Christ should be enough I also know that there have been many times in my life where I longed for other things in my life to work out and my focus shifted from God to them.

    I believe that’s the reality of being human and living in the World.

    The encouraging news though is that God is constantly redirecting our focus from the old to the new. This can be a minute by minute process at times and at others over hours, days, weeks, months, and even years.

    Behold, I am doing a new thing! Even now it’s springing to light. Do you not perceive it? Isaiah 43:19

    We do have a hard time perceiving it but it exists nevertheless. God is always doing a new thing. In us. In our circumstances. In our relationships.

    While the brokenness may always be present in your human relationships God promises to do a new thing in them. While it may not look different to you given that there is still brokenness there is something God did and/or is doing in them and He will reveal that to you.

    Stay encouraged Brotha Ric. You are stronger than you give yourself credit for.

  9. Thanks Braveone. Another good friend pointed out, there are several brothers and sisters with whom I enjoy a healthy, open, and encouraging relationship. You are my sister in Christ and I often forget to thank Him for the good that comes from this blessing.

  10. I think Alanis Morrissette summed it up best:

    You live you learn
    You love you learn
    You cry you learn
    You lose you learn
    You bleed you learn
    You scream you learn

    You grieve you learn
    You choke you learn
    You laugh you learn
    You choose you learn
    You pray you learn
    You ask you learn
    You live you learn

  11. Viewing the long human history there is some reason to debate IF we actually ever learn anything at all.

    Then there is within our own lifetimes the question of exactly WHAT it is we ‘learn’.

    How well we learn His Teachings i rather fancy depends upon the degree we can see beyond our own body’s feelings and allow our spirit to accept the ‘lessons’ he sends us reflected via the ‘real world’.

    It is not THAT we learn – but WHAT we learn and the quality of how well we pass that learning ‘on’ to both our spirit and put into practice and pass on then to others (as proof of what we have ‘learned’) that really matters, i believe.

    Learning only to be hurt and to suffer might be important at the time but might not be what we were actually meant to keep within us? Might not be what we came here to ‘learn’?

    May not be the ‘reason’ for our being?

    But we each have need of our own learning as He provides us.

    <B

Leave a Reply

