Rescue Me


The Boy Who Put the World on Wheels

The Boy Who Put the World on Wheels — by Norman Rockwell

i crave, a normal Rockwell
to cover, up the smell
my mind, is on a mission
dec-orating hell

he is, so quite convincing
so easily, he fools
my heart, so numb from wincing
I am, his chosen tool

a child, he learns pretending
the truth, he dare not risk
the pain-less pain he’s sending
the lie, hides on aย  kiss

i lost, my heart a normal
the nicest, place to be
like death, draped in floral
I am, who rescues me

12 Responses

  1. Great poem!
    It’s sad,but the feeling it conveys makes me think about my grandfather.
    Take care,
    http://xxhawkeyexx.wordpress.com/

  2. Double meaning in the last line.

    ‘Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye DOUBLE MINDED.’ (James 4:8)

    The capitals were the KJV’s – not mine! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Poetry of your usual high standards, Bro.

    As far as i know every living breathing human at some times wishes for a different life (childhood?) to the one they actually got.

    Truth is: it just ain’t never gonna happen – we get one per customer, no exchange, no refund. We just gotta accept the one we have already had and make the best we can from it.

    You are blessed in that you have the ability to make something truly exceptional out of yours…

    in fact, you already have!

    Witness to others and let Him have the Victory, and remember that while none of us are perfect, we always have the choice of doing ‘better’ each day we live.

    Keep on making that Choice, Ric, one day at a time.

    <B

  3. Thanks for noticing the last line bLove.

    I tried to write this poem past tense (ala, i craved…) but it ended up sounding clumsy. So I chaged it to present tense, writing from the state of my mind and heart a while back.

  4. I notice much more than i end up commenting upon ๐Ÿ™‚ and you are quite welcome Sir.

    i do appreciate your skill and effort you put into each work i wish i had better suggestions as to the craft but the truth is – i’m an amateur myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your blog makes for a very powerful tool – for owner and reader alike!

    Hoping your present heart and mind is more Norman ๐Ÿ˜‰
    (or more Ric, actually!)

    Or do i mean less Ric?

    less of me, for sure!

    <B

  5. Very thought provoking Ric. I had to read it several times.

    “he learns pretending
    the truth, he dare not risk
    the pain-less pain heโ€™s sending
    the lie”

    The truth can certainly be painful. The more pain we have expereinced more willing we are to accept the pain-less pain of the lie. I think the lie knows this. We are seduced by the drug of pretending.

    “i lost, my heart a normal
    the nicest, place to be
    like death, draped in floral
    I am, who rescues me”

    “who resuces me” could either be a statement of fact or a question. When I was a child it was a question. It does take a lot of work to turn it into a statement of fact.

    Normal, nicest, and death, three words that can seem like they belong together for someone alone with their pain. If we chose to live then we need to seperate normal and nice from death. Then we can be rescued.

  6. Thanks for reading and listening Ed. You past has given you a very keen ear for the type of pain and normal I write about. I am learning to accept my new normal. I don’t much like it mind you, but I am slowly accepting of it.

  7. ‘Bout time! ****folds arms****

    Love this Ric…. I think I’ll put some of this to music and see what happens ๐Ÿ™‚ I like your new normal, it’s the only normal I’ve ever known you as, and think it’s pretty cool…

  8. Thanks Deb. grin. Well, I may get to liking it too… who’s to say?

  9. Remind me to slap you if you start feeling comfortable with or liking the new normal…

  10. […] below. It has been laying dormant in my drafts folder ever since. It is the precursor to Rescue Me, posted on October 5th, 2009. During that time of my life, I was taking a crash-course in life and […]

Leave a Reply

